No Comments

The World Baseball Classic: International Baseball at its Finest

What to watch for in all 8 World Baseball Classic games Saturday

The World Baseball Classic (WBC) represents the highest level of competition in international baseball. First held in 2006, the WBC features the top players from many different countries facing off in a tournament format similar to the FIFA World Cup. It has become a major event for growing the popularity of baseball globally.

Read More: Baseball

Baseball Canada announces 2023 World Baseball Classic
Baseball Canada announces 2023 World Baseball Classic

History and Background

The origins of the WBC trace back to efforts in the late 1990s to foster greater worldwide interest in baseball. MLB and the MLB Players Association partnered with the International Baseball Federation to develop the concept.

Japan won the first WBC tournament in 2006 after beating Cuba in the finals. The Dominican Republic took the 2013 title while the United States claimed its first championship in 2017. The 2021 WBC was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tournament Format

The WBC currently involves 20 national teams divided into four pools for the opening round. The pools are hosted in various countries across Asia, Latin America, and North America.

After round-robin play, the top two teams in each pool advance to the second round. An elimination bracket is then used to determine the WBC champions.

The tournament runs for about three weeks in March, minimizing disruption to players’ MLB team schedules. Games have various rules modifications from MLB to reduce injury risk.

WBC Impact and Notable Moments

The WBC has increased baseball’s popularity and helped spur investment in the sport’s growth across the globe, especially in Asia and Latin America. Countries take great pride in fielding competitive teams.

World Baseball Classic Moved By MLB, Union ground 2023
World Baseball Classic Moved By MLB, Union ground 2023

Several iconic moments have occurred, like MLB All-Star Pedro Martinez pitching for the Dominican Republic in the 2009 WBC. Puerto Rico’s upset of the US in 2013 also stands out.

World Baseball Classic

The 2017 championship game featured excellent play from tournament MVP Marcus Stroman in the United States’ win over Puerto Rico. Japan’s thrilling extra-innings victory over Korea in the 2006 semis is also a classic WBC moment.

Looking Ahead

The next WBC is scheduled for March 2023. It will be the first under a new format extending the tournament from 16 to 20 teams. The USA will look to repeat as champions, but Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Japan and other contenders have loaded rosters ready to vie for glory.

The WBC has cemented itself as the premier international baseball competition. With national pride on the line, the event promises to continue showcasing outstanding play and creating indelible moments that cross cultures. The baseball world will be watching closely.


Since its inception in 2006, the World Baseball Classic has established itself as the preeminent international baseball tournament. It brings together the best players from across the globe to represent their home countries. The WBC has helped increase investment in baseball’s development worldwide. It provides opportunities for iconic athletic moments as nations contend for international bragging rights. With an expanded field coming in 2023, the WBC looks to continue showcasing first-rate talent and exciting play.

Read More: World Baseball Classic

World Baseball Classic's biggest winner is baseball
World Baseball Classic’s biggest winner is baseball


When and where was the first World Baseball Classic held?

The inaugural WBC was held in 2006 with games played in Japan, Puerto Rico, and the United States.

How many teams compete in the WBC?

The WBC started with 16 teams but expanded to 20 teams starting in 2023.

How often is the WBC held?

The WBC is held every four years. Tournaments have taken place in 2006, 2009, 2013, 2017, and now 2023 after a COVID postponement.

What countries have won the WBC?

Japan won the first WBC in 2006. The Dominican Republic took the 2013 title. The United States won its first championship in 2017.

Who determines the players on each country’s WBC roster?
Best player on each 2023 World Baseball Classic team

Each nation’s baseball governing body determines the WBC rosters. They select top players who are eligible and willing to participate.

Tags: MLB Baseball League

More Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed